RT-PCR Test 

 

Within a very short time, the PCR test has established itself as the gold standard in corona diagnostics. Due to the amplification of the viral genome during the test procedure, the PCR test can also detect lower viral loads, making the test significantly more sensitive than a conventional antigen rapid test.


The RT-PCR test is a molecular biology test, which also allows air travel abroad. In addition, our new test procedure is significantly faster and more cost-effective than the PCR tests commonly used to date.

_RFP3818.jpg

RT-PCR Test

CE Certified

CE and IVD certified test kit

State of the art research

robotic rna extraction and rapid PCR protocol

Quick result

Results in:

less than 5 hours* (Vienna & surroundings)

less than 7 hours* (Linz)

same day* (Nickelsdorf)

In just 2 hours* at our location on Kärtnerstraße

Suitable for air travel abroad

Including a medical certificate in German and English.

Appointment

You can book an appointment directly on our website. This will reduce your waiting time on site. It is also possible to visit our test stations without an appointment. Please note that only card payments are accepted on site. At "Kärntner Straße" appointments are mandatory.

Registration

Our staff members will collect your personal information on site. Please provide your eCard as well as an official identification document (passport, driver's license, ID-card).

Testing Method

After a simple throat swab by our trained staff, the sample is mechanically RNA-extracted in our laboratory. The extracted sample is then pipetted into a reagent (master mix) and processed in a real-time PCR device for approx. 45 min. The first step is reverse transcription (RT) of the virus RNA into DNA, which is then amplified by polymerase chain reaction (PCR). If virus RNA is found in the sample, an exponential fluorescence curve is visible on the real-time PCR instrument.

Notification

You will receive an e-mail notification about the completion of the analysis within 2 hours (Kärntner Straße), respectively 5 hours (other locations in Vienna & surroundings), respectively 7 hours (Linz) after sampling. In about 5% of all tests a follow-up test is necessary. If this should be the case, we will contact you and you will receive your result on the same day.

Result

You can download your written certificate in both German and English through LATIDO's online access after receiving a notification and a two factor authentication via text message.

RT-PCR Test Procedure

How much does a RT-PCR Test cost?

We charge 89 Euro for a RT-PCR Test. The sample collection by means of a throat swap is carried out only by medically trained staff.

Due to our strict hygiene guidelines and in order to guarantee swift proceedings, we only accept card payments.

How reliable is a RT-LAMP PCR Test?

The RT-PCR test is the gold standard in PCR diagnostics. 
Thus, the RT-PCR is significantly more sensitive than an antigen test. The specificity of the method is over 99%. The viral load fluctuates during the course of the disease. Therefore, it may also fall below the limit of detectability. Thus, disease with Covid-19 cannot be ruled out one hundred percent with any test, including our RT-PCR. 

What happens, if the test is positive?

If the RT-PCR test shows a positive result, i.e. an infection with Covid-19, a Ct value will also be indicated. If the test result is positive, you will be informed by telephone. Please go home and put yourself in isolation. Afterwards, call the health number 1450, which will inform you about the further procedure.

What is the use of a RT-PCR Test?

Numerous disease progressions, especially in young people, are very mild or even without any symptoms. A characteristic of a Covid infection is the possibility to mistake the disease's symptoms with those of an ordinary cold. Therefore, many people don't realize that they have actually gotten infected with COVID. For this reason many countries request upon entry a negative molecular biological COVID Test – a so-called nucleic-acid amplification test (NAAT). That is why our test is intended especially for travelers.

The RT-PCR Test is our most sensitive COVID Test.

Is the test result official?

Yes! Since exclusively medically trained staff is taking the test samples, the result of the RT-PCR Test is official.

When must I not get tested?

If you have typical Covid-19 symptoms like temperature, cough, loss of smell or taste, please stay at home in self-isolation and call the health hotline 1450. They will talk you through the next steps.

How will the sample be taken?

For the RT-PCR Test sample material is needed from the throat area. A swab is inserted beyond the uvula to the pharyngeal wall and is rotated a few times in order to make sure that enough sample material is collected.

Many people perceive the throat swap considerably more comfortable compared to a nasopharyngeal (nasal) swab, which is conducted for Antigen Tests.

How does the RT-PCR Test work?

"PCR" an abbreviation for "polymerase chain reaction" refers to a biochemical reaction for the multiplication of DNA. In order to provide sensitive results, an RNA extraction is carried out beforehand using a state-of-the-art extraction robot. 

The method of multiplication (amplification) then takes place in a chain reaction (chain reaction). 

"RT" stands for reverse transcription and describes the conversion of RNA into DNA. SARS-CoV-2 is an RNA virus. The reverse transcription (RT) step allows the RNA genome to be transcribed into DNA. The DNA formed is then amplified and detected by fluorescence measurement.

The amplification is specific and only starts if the reaction mixture contains short DNA sequences, so-called "primers", which match the DNA of the sample. The "primers" are designed to match the SARS-CoV-2 virus. This makes a false positive result extremely unlikely.


How can we now assess whether the multiplication has taken place?


Due to the multiplication of DNA and the formation of specific by-products, the fluorescence properties of the reaction mixture change and lead to a curve increase on the real-time PCR instrument. 

 

Samples that do not give a clear result in the first run or where the positive control does not show a curve increase in the respective run are retested. The DNA in the sample is illuminated with a light source with a special wavelength and the reflected light is detected. The stronger the reflected light, the more DNA is present in the sample. This double check further reduces already rare false positive/negative results. 
 

Useful Information about the RT-PCR Test

Standard PCR vs. Antigen Test

In order to get a pandemic under control, a sophisticated test strategy is needed, which includes all prevalent testing methods in their ideal application.

PCR Test (RT-PCR)

Der PCR Test hat sich binnen kürzester Zeit als Goldstandard in der Corona-Diagnostik etabliert. Aufgrund der Vervielfältigung des Virus-Erbguts während des Testverfahrens kann man mit dem PCR Test auch niedrigere Viruslasten nachweisen, womit der Test deutlich sensitiver ist als ein herkömmlicher Antigen Schnelltest.


Es handelt sich beim RT-PCR Test um einen molekularbiologischen Test, welcher auch Flugreisen ins Ausland ermöglicht. Zudem ist unser neues Testverfahren deutlich schneller und kostengünstiger als die bislang üblichen PCR Tests.

_RFP3818.jpg

RT-PCR Test

CE Zertifiziert

CE und IVD zertifiziertes Testkit

Neuester Stand der Forschung

Roboter gestützte RNA-Extraktion und rasches PCR Protokoll.

Schnelles Ergebnis

Ergebnisse in:

weniger als 5 Stunden*

(Wien & Umgebung)

weniger als 7 Stunden* (Linz)

am selben Tag* (Nickelsdorf)

Sogar nur 2 Stunden* an unserem Standort in der Kärntnerstraße

*Richtzeiten werden in Einzelfällen aufgrund von Nachtestungen überschritten. Hierbei erfolgt die Ergebnisübermittlung am selben Tag.

Für Flugreisen ins Ausland geeignet

Inklusive ärztlichem Zeugnis in deutscher und englischer Sprache.

Termin

Einen Termin können Sie direkt hier über die Website buchen. Dies minimiert Ihre Wartezeit vor Ort. Es besteht aber auch die Möglichkeit ohne Termin einfach zu unseren Teststationen zu kommen. Beachten Sie bitte, dass vor Ort nur Kartenzahlungen akzeptiert werden können.Am Standort Kärntner Straße ausschließlich mit Termin.

Registrierung

Vor Ort werden Ihre Daten von unseren Mitarbeitern erfasst. Bitte halten Sie hierfür Ihre eCard sowie einen amtlichen Lichtbildausweis bereit (Reisepass, Führerschein, Personalausweis).

Test Methode

Nach einem einfachen Rachenabstrich durch unser geschultes Personal wird die Probe in unserem Labor maschinell RNA-extrahiert. Anschließend wird die extrahierte Probe zu einem Reagenz hinuzupipettiert (Mastermix) und in einem real-time PCR Gerät für ca. 45 min weiterverarbeitet. Hierbei kommt es zunächst zu einer reversen Transkription (RT) der Virus RNA in DNA, welche dann durch die Polymerase-Kettenreaktion (englisch polymerase chain reaction kurz PCR) vervielfältigt wird. Findet sich Virus RNA in der Probe, so wird am real-time PCR Gerät eine exponentielle Fluoreszenzkurve erkennbar.

Benachrichtigung

In 2 Stunden (Kärntnerstraße) bzw. 5 Stunden (andere Standorte in Wien & Umgebung) bzw. 7 Stunden (Linz) nach Probenentnahme werden Sie per Email über die Fertigstellung der Auswertung benachrichtigt. In etwa 5% der Testungen ist eine Nachtestung erforderlich. Sollte dies bei Ihnen der Fall sein, werden Sie von uns kontaktiert und erhalten das Ergebnis noch am selben Tag.

Ergebnis

Nach Erhalt der Benachrichtigung und 2-Faktor-Authentifizierung mittels SMS können Sie über den LATIDO online Zugang Ihre schriftliche Bestätigung in deutscher, sowie englischer Sprache herunterladen.

Ablauf des RT-PCR Tests

Wie viel kostet unser RT-PCR Test?

Für den RT-PCR Test verrechnen wir Ihnen 89 Euro. Ausschließlich medizinisches Fachpersonal ist mit der Abnahme der Probe über den Rachen betraut.

Aufgrund unserer strengen Hygiene-Richtlinien und um einen raschen Ablauf zu garantieren, akzeptieren wir nur Kartenzahlung.

Wie zuverlässig ist der RT-PCR Test?

Der RT-PCR Test ist der Goldstandard in der PCR Diagnostik. 
Somit ist der RT-PCR deutlich sensitiver als ein Antigen-Test. Die Spezifität des Verfahrens liegt bei über 99%. Die Viruslast schwankt während des Krankheitsverlaufs. Daher kann sie auch unter die Grenze der Nachweisbarkeit fallen. Eine Erkrankung mit Covid-19 kann also mit keinem Test, auch nicht mit unserem RT-PCR, hundertprozentig ausgeschlossen werden. 

Was passiert, wenn der Test positiv ist?

Sollte der RT-PCR Test ein positives Ergebnis anzeigen, also eine Infektion mit Covid-19, so erfolgt auch eine Ct-Wert Angabe. Wenn ein positives Testresultat vorliegt werden Sie von uns telefonisch verständigt. Bitte begeben Sie sich nach Hause und in Isolation. Im Anschluss rufen Sie bei der Gesundheitsnummer 1450 an, die Ihnen das weitere Vorgehen mitteilt.

Wozu ist der RT-PCR Test sinnvoll?

Viele Krankheitsverläufe sind, besonders bei jungen Menschen, sehr mild oder gar symptomfrei. Ein Merkmal der Covid-Erkrankung ist, dass die Symptome leicht verwechselt werden können mit einer herkömmlichen Erkältung. Dadurch bekommen viele Menschen gar nicht mit, ob sie bereits mit Corona infiziert sind. Aus diesem Grund verlangen viele Länder bei Einreise einen negativen molekularbiologischen Corona Test – ein sogenanntes Nukleinsäureamplifikationsverfahren (NAAT). Daher ist unser Test vor allem für Reisende gedacht.
Der RT-PCR Test ist unser sensitivster Corona Test.

Ist das Testergebnis offiziell?

Ja! Da FasTest eine naturwissenschaftliche Einrichtung ist und ausschließlich medizinisch geschultes Fachpersonal die Test-Proben nimmt, ist das Ergebnis des RT-PCR Test offiziell.

Wann darf ich mich nicht testen lassen?

Sollten Sie Covid-19 typische Symptome haben wie z. B. Fieber, Husten, Geruchs- bzw. Geschmacksverlust, dann bleiben Sie bitte zu Hause in Isolation und rufen Sie die Gesundheitsnummer 1450. Diese klärt mit Ihnen den weiteren Ablauf.

Wie wird die Probe entnommen?

Beim RT-PCR Test wird Probenmaterial aus dem Rachen benötigt. Hierfür wird ein Abstrichtupfer am Gaumenzäpfchen vorbei bis an die hintere Rachenwand geführt und hier einige Male gedreht um genug Probenmaterial zu entnehmen.

Viele Personen empfinden den Rachenabstrich als deutlich angenehmer im Vergleich zum Nasen-Rachen Abstrich der bei Antigen-Tests durchgeführt wird.

Wie funktioniert der RT-PCR Test?

„PCR“ eine Abkürzung für „polymerase chain reaction“ bezeichnet eine biochemische Reaktion zur Vervielfachung von DNA. Um sensitive Ergebnisse zu liefern, wird noch zuvor eine RNA-Extrakion mit einem hochmodernen Extraktionsroboter durchgeführt. 

Die Methode der Vervielfachung (Amplifikation) findet anschließend in einer Kettenreaktion (chain reaction) statt. 

„RT“ steht für Reverse Transkription und beschreibt die Umwandlung von RNA in DNA. Bei SARS-CoV-2 handelt es sich um einen RNA-Virus. Mit dem Schritt der Reversen Transkription (RT) kann das RNA-Erbgut in DNA umgeschrieben werden. Die gebildete DNA wird anschließend amplifiziert und mittels Fluoreszenzmessung detektiert.

Die Amplifikation ist spezifisch und startet nur wenn im Reaktionsgemisch kurze DNA-Sequenzen enthalten sind, sogenannte „Primer“, die mit der DNA der Probe übereinstimmen. Die „Primer“ werden so designt, dass sie dem SARS-CoV-2 Virus entsprechen. Ein falsch positives Ergebnis ist dadurch extrem unwahrscheinlich.


Wie kann man nun beurteilen ob die Vervielfachung stattgefunden hat?
 

Durch die Vervielfachung von DNA und der Bildung spezifischer Nebenprodukte verändern sich die Fluoreszenz Eigenschaften des Reaktionsgemisches und führt zu einem Kurvenanstieg am real-time PCR Gerät. 

 

Proben die im ersten Lauf kein eindeutiges Ergebnis liefern oder bei der die positiv Kontrolle in dem jeweiligen Run keinen Kurvenanstieg verzeichnet werden erneut nachgetestet. Dabei wird die DNA in der Probe mit einer Lichtquelle mit spezieller Wellenlänge angestrahlt und das reflektierte Licht wird detektiert. Je stärker das reflektierte Licht, umso mehr DNA befindet sich in der Probe. Mit dieser Doppelkontrolle werden bereits seltene falsch positive/negative Ergebnisse weiter reduziert. 

Wissenswertes zum RT-PCR Test

Goldstandard RT-PCR vs Antigen-Test

Um einer Pandemie Herr zu werden braucht es eine ausgeklügelte Teststrategie die alle gängigen Testmethoden, in ihrem jeweils optimalen Einsatzgebiet, miteinbezieht.